powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, May. 25, 2012 - 6:17 a.m.

A friend of mine, IRL and FB, posted a thing he'd written today. I'd met him though his writing. Zines. Chapbooks. I still find his writing comforting to read, though sometimes it's quite disturbing. If that makes sense, which on the face of it I realize it does not. I guess because he has such a distinctive voice, and I was somewhat immersed in it those many years ago. Whenever he posts something, I feel happy.

My Indiana license seems to have resurfaced. Apparently it was under the recliner, taking a much-needed vacation.

Reading some articles on homeschooling. One compared unschoolers with structured homeschoolers with public school students, controlling for family income and maternal education level, and found that while structured homeschoolers did better than public school students on standardized tests, unschoolers actually did rather worse. So. But it's interesting-- so much of the 'research' is obviously pulling for one team or another, and homeschoolers are apparently a tough group to study as they're hard to find and many of them don't want to participate in research. Well-done comparisons of subgroups has been rare.

Not much to complain about from yesterday. Perhaps today.

previous next

Leave a note