powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jul. 12, 2012 - 12:03 p.m.

We went to the library story hour today, sort of. We arrived on time. But then Q didn't want to go into the room, what with there being other people in it and all.

Sometimes the degree of similarity is such that it may actually be a bad thing. After all, she is 2 and I am 38 or something like that. One risks committing the Comparative Fallacy. But no, I don't see any point in making her do stuff she doesn't want to do. She's not at an age where they're reliably social anyhow. Later, if she initiates going somewhere and then when she gets there doesn't want to engage, I may reconsider. But at this point, it's pretty much always someone else's idea, so why force it on her?

And I privately find it hilarious that whenever someone new comes to our house, she starts yelling "bye bye!" at them.

It's not so amusing at the doctor's office, though, when the waiting room freaks her out and she's the only child in the room displaying distress at just being there.

Anyhow. The other failure so far today was the cereal box marble run that I spent a good 10 minutes constructing. Then she wasn't the least bit interested! I thought marble runs were one of those things all toddlers were supposed to like. Like crayons and playdoh.

What else. There is not much else. She's been waking up so early and going to bed so late and not napping in a timely way, so I have no life of my own to speak of. I did start a new necklace yesterday, but I don't know if it's going to be worth bringing to a conclusion. I cut out the paper form from white paper, am coloring with watercolor pencils and watercolors on pointed pen. But I have no plan, so I'll probably ruin it along the way.

J got me a slug scarf for our anniversary. So, handmade teapot for Mother's Day, slug scarf for anniversary. What have I given him? Nothing for Father's Day, nothing for anniversary. I kinda suck. At least at demonstrating emotion through ritualized economic transactions.

I think I need a new tattoo. Maybe of a nudibranch.

Update: She did eventually play with the marble run, making it entirely worth the $0 and 10 minutes I spent on it. Yay.

previous next

Leave a note