powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012 - 5:28 p.m.

Q and I, then J, trading off so I could go to my doc appt, spent the morning at our friends' house with their kids. It all went ok until I got back, when it came out that the 6 year old finds me scary. I've still got it!

But really, then she came in and told her mother in a loud voice, "I'm ready for them to LEAVE.". That's okay, I said, when her mother apologized. Learning to send the right signals politely is tricky to learn, and I still haven't gotten the hang of it myself. I understand.

Then of course we did get ready to leave, and as we were standing at the door exchanging farewell pleasantries, the girl came back and interrupted me mid-sentence to tell "GoodBYE! GoodBYE! GoodBYE." in an unfriendly voice. Her mother was once again horrified and apologetic. I laughed again, but really

Really my feelings are kind of hurt. By a 6 year old. It's actually put me in a bit if a sad mood dor the day. Let's say I am more vulnerable than I would like to be at times.

Luckily Q was oblivious. When her feelings start to get hurt too, I'm gonna be miserable all the time.

previous next

Leave a note