powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Nov. 08, 2012 - 5:19 a.m.

Wow man was yesterday rough. She never did go to sleep, until I got her in the car around 12:30pm and she drifted off almost immediately. Brought her home for what I hoped would be a nice long nap, settled into the chair with U (who of course woke up about the time I'd tried to lay down)...and then she woke up, a screaming mess.

Anyhow. Last night went ok, thank goodness. J stayed up all night working again, though, even on his 4? discontinuous hours of sleep. I'm not sure how he does it. He just went to bed-- if all goes well, he can have 3 1/2 hours sleep before I have to wake him.

Anyway, that's it. Trying to stay awake and retain my composure all day under challenging circumstances.

Today the paper arts group I joined is having their fall art sale, timed exactly so I cannot attend. I haven't been able to attend even one meeting or event yet. Maybe someday.

On the ADS list someone mentioned a new eggcorn, for 'scapegoat'. 'Escape goat'. Sounds like a great name for a comic book character. The goat who goes around battling villains, escaping every danger, but who gets blamed for everything in the end anyhow. It practically writes itself.

I wish I had a little room left in my brain for creative endeavors, and time to play. I will again eventually, I must remind myself.

previous next

Leave a note