powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2012 - 3:08 p.m.

Mom is here. I told her about Q's moodiness and tantrums lately, she seems sympathetic enough for now. I told her the most useful thing she can do when it happens is take U and let J and I deal with Q. We'll see how it goes.

First news of my brother that she has shared with me in some time. It isn't good (is it ever?) He moved in with his girlfriend, but then the apt manager found out he was drinking and won't let him live there anymore. (I guess I don't know whether it's an apt or just a room), so he was living in the woods. Then he became suicidal and checked himself into the psych ward. That's where he is now. His doc won't let him check out yet, because he's not stable enough. They're trying to find a way to help him, but. Also his liver is starting to not function so good (surprise, surprise).

Alcoholism--> depression (because you have no money because you spend it all on booze and cigs; because you're homeless because you have no money, and you can't get a job because you're alcoholic and homeless, and if you do get a job you lose it in a week anyway because you're drinking instead of working.) --> alcoholism.

I sure hope someone finds a reliable treatment for this disease someday. I sure hope neither of my children will have it.

previous next

Leave a note