powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Dec. 09, 2012 - 6:33 a.m.

Am making more of the little 16-point origami stars with the influx of shiny Hanukkah wrapping paper. They take a long time-- 16 points!-- and so it's slow going what with all the interruptions. If I didn't have kids I would be on a binge where I would do nothing but make little stars and eat cookies for like a week straight till it was all out of my system.

I think it's safe to say that star compulsion aside, I will not be pursing origami further at this time. My attention has turned back to my paper mosaics. They take a long time. Roughly 15-30 minutes per square inch at the scale of 'tile' I work with. I don't know. I'll see. They are instantly absorbing and invite me into Flow almost immediately. But it's hard to break away.

I always feel like I 'should' be planning out the design more than I do-- I just choose a color palette, a surface, and a general strategy and the rest is emergent over the course of doing. I suppose if that's what works for me, I should stick with it. Nothing would kill my enthusiasm for mosaic quicker than having to sketch out a design first.

previous next

Leave a note