powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Feb. 28, 2013 - 9:15 a.m.

Only a week left here. Ready to be home.

Yesterday I had to defend at length my preference for my wearing shoes in the house. It wasn't until it was all over that I thought, hey! Why didn't I ask her why she feels she has to wear shoes all the time? Turn the tables on her and her shoe-wearing hegemony! But it was too late.

And then at lunch, with the cake and the barrage of, "do you want cake?" to Q, as if q were jar of hearing. I swear she was asked or informed about the cake 10 times. Then she finally wants some, is cut an adult-sized piece, and then they start with the "is it good? Do you like that? Is that cake good? I think she likes it!", just in case the message hasn't gotten through: go nuts for cake! Prefer it to anything else! it's the best thing ever! Eat it on a full stomach, throw yourself at it and wipe it all over your face and eat 3x the appropriate serving size! We'll smile and applaud you for this! Do it on a daily basis!

Aaaaaaack.

And just in case you think I'm nuts, she's pretty much stopped eating vegetables since being here. 2 weeks is all it takes. Hoping being at home again will revert us all to normal.

previous next

Leave a note