powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Mar. 18, 2013 - 10:29 a.m.

I swear, if I achieve nothing else worthwhile as a parent, I will make sure my children know the following two things:
1. If someone says no (or is not in a position to say yes), back the fuck off. To anything. No matter what it is.

2. They themselves always have a right to say no. If they say no, the other person needs to back the fuck off. If they don't, bring the wrath of God on them.

Pretty minimal, I know. And yet.

Bringing in the rest of the grapefruit from the tree. The new flowers are forming. Hope they bloom before we have to leave. Am contemplating the packing process. Right now, strategizing using up the contents of our freezers (including the 40+ frozen lemons).

Saw a picture of my old elementary school. It was built in 1914 and was a real architectural beauty. Of course, my town allowed it to be torn down in the 90s (real estate boom; it was on the river). Hard to keep up, sure, and what to do with it? I have trouble imagining that there were ever enough students in our little town to populate it. But still. Artist studios! That's always my answer. What a great space it would have made for studios and small galleries. Could have been an asset to the town. Oh, well. They tore down the grand riverfront hotel, too. Shortsighted money-grubbing bastards.

previous next

Leave a note