powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 14, 2013 - 6:33 a.m.

The nights continue to be brutal. U goes down around 8:30 or 9, I go to bed at 9:30 usually, and then he wakes sometime between 11:30-12:30, 2ish, 3ish, 4ish, 5ish, and then he's up for a stretch. And for most of his wakings, I get up and feed him or get him back to sleep, then try to get back to sleep myself, all of which takes a minimum of a half hour. So I get a series of 30 minutes naps most of the night. J will often take him for a stretch, if he's still up and it isn't one of the feeding times, but the last couple of nights, Q has woken up for no apparent reason and he has to go get her settled in again, and comes to bed around 2:30 or 3.

So then I get up at 5 or 5:30, have tea and toast and bobble U until he's ready for a nap at 6:30 or so. Then despite my exhaustion, my body is like, hey, it's morning! and I can't get back to sleep even if I try. And even if I do manage it, it's only for another half hour or so before he wakes again, and I don't even know if it's worth the effort. The feeling of having just gone to sleep and being woken up makes me mean as a snake. So here I am. I do enjoy the morning time to myself. That's as rare as sleep, so I guess not a bad way to go.

I do that sleep pattern for a few days and then demand an afternoon nap or every once in a while U sleeps another shift between 5ish and 6:30, and I wake up feeling pretty good and that gets me through another day or two of it. If you had told me I could feel pretty good as a result of getting an hour and a half of uninterrupted sleep, I'd not have believed you. I fondly remember the days when I felt I needed an afternoon nap because I had only gotten 7 hours of sleep.

The dress is dyed a lovely yellow. Q wants the helicopters to be orange. The two colors I don't have any fabric printing ink of are, of course, yellow and orange. I could try to sell her on red, but I like the idea of it being exactly the way she wants it (even if that way is probably pretty malleable and she might change her mind after I actually do it). So off to hunt down orange ink today.

previous next

Leave a note