powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Aug. 17, 2013 - 2:36 p.m.

Have been working on jewelry an hour a day. It's amazing how much I can get done. It's just enough to keep me focused. Longer than that and my back hurts and I just stare off into space. If I ever get to work more than an hour a day, I will split the hours up-- work a little, other stuff, work a little, other stuff.

All this advice about doing a bunch of one thing all at once is nonsense. Economy of scale is soul-killing. I have decided that the best way for me to to do a boring task is just a little, until I get bored, then move on to a different boring task and do a little of that. Then play with something fun. Then do something different. So if I have 26 little paper leaves to crumble up, I do maybe 6 of them before I've totally had it with that. Then I make a couple pairs of ear wires. Then do some experimental arrangement of bits of paper. Cut out some paper shapes to crumple next time. Etc. It only works out if I can work a bit every day. I come out of it having moved several things ever so slightly forward, which is satisfying. And even though I don't have much inventory yet, if I get an order, I have everything in some stage of production and don't have to do it all from the beginning.

previous next

Leave a note