powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2013 - 11:41 a.m.

U says "bah oooh" all the time, and we're not quite sure what it means.

He's a very sensitive little fellow. Whenever he sees another child crying, he gets upset too. Q has never exhibited that behavior. She still appears to not give a rat's ass when someone gets hurt and cries. I can't figure out whether she's like me in that or not. I just don't know what I was like when I was a little kid. I have empathy now, but not for everyone in every situation. And it's often more intellectual than emotional. "That must suck" rather than "ouch!".

I can't remember who I have sent art to now. If you said you wanted some but haven't gotten any, remind me. I am not ignoring you, I just underestimated how quickly I would lose track.

Inspired by a picture of a New Guinean wearing a salmon tin as a bracelet, I briefly considered bead embroidering tin cans for jewelry. But it turns out that poking a hole in a can results in tiny sharp bits that would a) hurt and b) cut the thread. So never mind. Could probably sand them down but am not convinced it is worth it.

Now I want to find something to do with cactus needles. Because they are abundant here. Can I make a pen out of them? Improvised awl, obviously, but how often do I need an improvised awl? For my bookbinding parties out in the bush? I'll keep thinking.

previous next

Leave a note