powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014 - 9:16 a.m.

Summary: I got really sick on the way home, on the plane. Those airline barf bags are really the best thing in barf technology. The next day J got sick.

After that, it was Q's birthday! We're having the party this weekend though because we didn't want to make anyone sick. But we went to the Phoenix children's museum. We still have to buy her a bike.

Reinstituted project time. Last night she said she wanted to paint today. Very exciting.

She had a total meltdown begging on panic attack yesterday because...well. She wanted j to put her shoes on her, but kept changing her story about which sock she wanted on first. I think it was mainly a stalling tactic because she didn't really want to go to the park. He was very patient, but there was no getting it right. Then she tried to do the same for the shoes, and so he had to pile her into the car kicking and screaming because she didn't have her shoes on yet. She cried and screamed all the way to the park that she wanted me to turn around and go home so that daddy could put her shoes on her. I told her we couldn't, we were going to te park, and she had to decide whether to put her shoes on in car or at park table, or not at all. Then we got there and I hugged her, counted to 10 with her, unbuckled her just so (U first, then her). By te time she got out she was pretty calm again. Poor thing. It was a tough situation for someone committed to gentle parenting-- you don't want to issue force, but it's either that or derail everyone's day. I think we did ok given the circumstances.

U has been enjoying pouring water from one container to another. I set him up with a towel on the kitchen floor and he goes at it for a long time.

I want to go harvest citrus from public property and make marmalade, but I don't see how I have the time this year.

previous next

Leave a note