powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Feb. 04, 2014 - 1:02 p.m.

The other day, when I wore those ridiculous pants with the ridiculous socks...I gotta tell you, I felt awesome. Awesome in a way I don't feel when I'm dressed conventionally 'nice'. I think I must pursue this.

When I get back to making jewelry, (and I will), I need to find a way to make jewelry which will make me feel that awesome, even if I am otherwise dressed normally. I think I will be onto something then.

Not just to feel 'nice', or to represent my interests (like with the leaves or bookshelves), but a HEY DID YOU NOTICE THAT? DONT LIKE IT?! HAH!! Which is one way if characterizing the absurdity that brings me such visceral pleasure.

And then if I ever get into another art show, I can dress like myself and not have to pretend I'm generally fashionable, which people often assume when you make jewelry. That always made me nervous.

I don't know what it will be like yet.
It will involve paper (of course).
It will involve patterns. Lots of patterns.
Color. Lots of color. It will not be wabi sabi.

I don't know if it will be big.
I don't know if it will involve beads.
I don't know if there will be words.
There may be found objects involved.

It will be like when I used to wear a jawbone on a tied cord. It will surprise and puzzle people, and maybe most people will hate it. It will be more complicated than that. But people like me will be like, "Whoa. Hah! Nice."

And I will practice whatever I need to practice to achieve the mastery necessary. And it will be awesome.


previous next

Leave a note