powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 06, 2014 - 5:57 a.m.

I started another embroidery project while I am still in the middle of doing my beaded airplane (the middle lasts a long time with beadwork). It is not a plane, but a sheet of handmade paper that I am embroidering with thread. I am putting a stylized sun on it. Plant paper, with a thread sun. It just struck something in me, and I've been wanting to work with sun imagery for a long time now. I am using embroidery floss I got for a cross stitch project I started when I was 10? And abandoned when I was 12? But saved all these years. See, it was worth dragging around! I always imagined I would finish the cross stitch (a dragon wrapped around a castle) when I was 35. I was wrong.

I have learned stem stitch and couching. I have also learned that embroidery is pretty easy for me, I think. People act like it's hard, but it isn't at all. There's a lot to know if you are interested, but stitching is just stitching. Design is where it becomes intimidating. So many variables.

previous next

Leave a note