powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jun. 21, 2014 - 1:54 p.m.

Waiting on my mould/deckle to get here. So excited. Have been working on the new pieces. Almost nothing I tried on the first go round yielded acceptable results. Second round looks better, although they are a bit weird. I am going to have to accept that the longer I make jewelry, the weirder it is going to get. That's a good thing, I guess. Maybe. Well, maybe not. Who cares. I can characterize it as a feminist jewelry for people who have rejected the notion that jewelry is supposed to be pretty, symmetrical, or indicative of status in its materials.

Working with sun prints and one problem is most flowers and leaves are much larger than I need them to be. Or so small they don't look like anything.

Probably will not incorporate the thread into this current line. When the deckle gets here I will have another go at paper making, and see what I can do with that. I have a feeling the thread will be involved there.

I can get a certain amount done in my head, but I forget how tactile and visual my process is. I can't really know until I have the things in front of me and shove them back and forth a bit.

previous next

Leave a note