powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Aug. 08, 2014 - 3:09 p.m.

I didn't bring any art supplies with me, and I think that was a mistake.

But let me tell you my big artistic idea for the day (someday I will have to find a way to search back through here for all my brilliant ideas so I can finally get rich off of them all): Glitter.

See? You see? Here's the thing: glitter (and cheap sparkly things in general) is loaded with meaning, associated with low-brow culture, kids crafts, DIY, and all things girly. Eye-catching worthlessness incarnate. If that isn't ripe for use as a symbol in art, I don't know what is. Plus, SPARKLY. Throw in some sequins, too. There. I will rule the world.

Seriously, I searched Pinterest for glitter art and got nothing that even reached for this. People are embroidering photographs, covering things in beads, knitting like maniacs. "Sloppy craft" is the movement du jour. But no glitter? COME ON, PEOPLE.

I am going to keep thinking about this. Will report back.

previous next

Leave a note