powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Sept. 13, 2014 - 12:46 p.m.

Ugh, phone fight with my mother. I am too old for this. _She_is too old for this.

I have tried to become more patient with her, I have. But my patience depletes early these days, and she doesn't give me any leeway for that at all. Or anything else. When her jaws are flapping, she expects full attention on her, no matter what else is going on, and plays the "oh, I guess no one is listening to me" card if her attentive audience is interrupted by, say, a crying child. Crying child? No problem! Ignore them, they'll learn not to cry, and they'll learn that nothing try have going on is more important than this 20 minute story about what the lady in the apartment office said tothe lady who lives down the hall.

Snort.

previous next

Leave a note