powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2014 - 4:43 p.m.

Nice birthday. Apple picking. Pie. I write a post about it but my phone reloaded the page before I posted it and so *foop*, gone. J got me a porcelain cup from the UK, Q selected a nice plant pot for me, BIL got me some badass hand forged gardening tools. Mom got me some maternity clothes that didn't fit.

I made a batch of apple butter, with vanilla bean, sorghum, and the usual spices. Very nice. That used 6 lbs, I gave my mom 1 1/2 lbs, we ate some...so 20 lbs to go. I plan a) pies (or fillings to freeze), b) applesauce. Not sure what else. We have had plenty of cake lately. I want things I can keep for later.

But I broke out the food mill and U and I had fun with it. I have a batch of Costco peaches shriveling up on the dining room table, I'm thinking peach butter is going to take precedence over the apples for now. Peach butter. How about chipotle bourbon honey peach butter? Too much? Nah.

Dudes, my watermelon is still getting bigger. I have been hand pollinating every day and we have a bunch more babies, too. Hope they will ripen before it gets frosty (we have time yet).

My cowpeas are finally forming pods.

Had the 20 week ultrasound, and everything looks good.

previous next

Leave a note