powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 07, 2015 - 11:48 a.m.

If you will permit me to talk about art for a bit, because I can't shut off my creative brain no matter what....

Batting this back and forth a bit: you will recall my fascination with the interplay between jewelry and self, and viewer...it seems different than other worn stuff even though of course clothing is just as involved in presentation of self. Maybe more so. T-shirts in particular, like bumper stickers for your body. I recall my folklore instructor describing them as "commemorative cloth"-- a term most often used to describe African textiles of a particular kind (which get studied in folklore classes, as opposed to our own perfectly prosaic tshirts).

Me, I like wearing tshirts but hate hate hate being called upon to explain them.

Now, an asemic calligraphy tshirt...that would be interesting. Right?
Also a bit of a connection to my glitter project, since tshirts are so lowbrow.


previous next

Leave a note