powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015 - 1:21 p.m.

My stomach is ok at night if I eat some food at 4:30pm and then a bit more food at 8:30 pm. A half cup of sweet potato and a small bowl of hot cereal was ok for me last night. Eating a large meal of Indian food at 8:30pm is...less good. Took me till 2:30 am to be able to lay horizontally.

I have deployed my first batch of compost in quantities doubtless too small to be beneficial to my various beds, and started a new bin. This time I am trying tearing up into large chunks the cardboard egg cartons we get at Costco and putting them in the bottom. Aeration. Soak up extra water. And hopefully break down on their own nicely? We shall see.

Starting Q and U at a homeschool co-op tomorrow. I am a bit nervous. Q is very excited. Her age group is supposedly Montessori, but I don't know how structured it is really, and so far she has been no fan of structure. She might love it. She might make herself a major pain in the ass and love it anyway (worst case scenario, because then it's unclear as to whether we stay or drop it). She tends to regard directives from adults as totally optional, not a tendency I have done much to discourage. It's just one day a week for 3 hours a day. I'm trying not to let the fact that it is not child-led learning bug me too much. She craves the social contact and needs lots of new experiences at this point. And despite all the articles chastising parents for overscheduling their children, we are not among those who do that. Two classes per week...not too much of a strain. Not sure what the nursery is like, but that's where U will be. I'll be there helping out, too, so I can keep an eye on things.

previous next

Leave a note