powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jun. 25, 2015 - 8:31 p.m.

This race thing. All these articles in my news feed. How to be a good ally. Acknowledging your privledge and using it for good. I want to do that, you know? Here's the thing: I don't really know what to do. Oh, I've read articles on that too. They make it sound like if you aren't basically dedicating your life to racial justice, you're part of the problem. And yes, I know my whiteness is what allows me not to have to dedicate my life to it...but I just want to do right things as they come up. Not volunteer for the NAACP, you know? And even just saying things about the recent events to black people-- should I or shouldn't I? One post bemoans that they hear nothing from white people about the shooting. Another says, I don't want to hear you're sorry. I want you to do the real work. And I don't want to hear how confused you are either! Not my problem!

So, I'm going with quietly doing what work crosses my path. Tonight I probably annoyed a conservative cousin. Well, if that's what it takes....

previous next

Leave a note