powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 09, 2015 - 9:17 a.m.

This time of year, everyone posting their back to school stuff. Even the ones for preschoolers, talking about what a hard time the child is having leaving her mama. And everyone seems to think this is necessary or normal. At some point, sure, children are ready to be off on their own all day. Q certainly craves independence. But the littler ones? Someone explain what is to be gained? Even at the coop I tried to leave U at the nursery and he did NOT like it. "It's what they do" I was told. I had the distinct feeling that if I didn't want to put him through that, everyone would think I was a pushover of a mother.

"They'll cry until you're gone and then go off to play happily" has never been the case with mine. Mine have real staying power. They can rage for the duration. And I just don't see the benefit. It feels like something breaking, and not in a good way.

previous next

Leave a note