powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 19, 2015 - 8:15 a.m.

This cyanotype business is harder than it looks, harder than they make it sound in all the tutorials. Not surprising. Of course, I want to do it well. My motivation in this case is almost entirely so I can make something that would sell locally-- local content for touristy gift shops. Dammit, I want to make some money. But it is also enjoyable, satisfying. but I want to distinguish my work from that of someone just slapping some flowers down on the paper all silly-nilly. I have new appreciation for that woman who pioneered the process and published that book of botanicals. Not easy to get prints that good.

I ordered the press. I am pretty excited about that.

My gourd is already developing some powdery mildew. I will turn it into paper when it is done. I will press that paper. It will be smooth and strong. YES

previous next

Leave a note