powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jun. 04, 2016 - 11:02 a.m.

I am deeply engaged in thinking about what direction to take my art practice next. I am still frustrated and have no answer. Papermaking calls to me as it always has but my love is all process; I have no product. Sure, calligraphy maybe. But I strongly feel functional art (aka Craft) is more what I should aim for.

All the artists teach, too. One way or another. And ugh, I don't know that I want to teach. Even when I am experienced enough to.

This beckons: I make paper wherever I go (my little dream that has cropped up here from time to time over the last 6 years). I build a practice that uses local resources. "Sustainability". Rain water powered, rehabilitating the water and putting it back into the desert when I am done. Solar powered retting. (That is a joke). Hand beating the fibers. Partnering with local conservation groups. That's where it breaks down because doesn't "partnering" mean I have to talk to people? Lol. It could be a worthy dream except I don't actually have a passion for education. I would probably keep on making jewelry, because that is the most interesting thing I do with my paper. But, I don't know.

previous next

Leave a note