powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jul. 02, 2016 - 10:27 p.m.

Went up the mountain yesterday. Lots of snow at the top still! And we were in a cloud, so it was misty/rainy. Fun! Cold! Everything is covered in moss here. I saw real wild columbine. The birds sound different. The forest smells good.

I forgot to mention that on the way here my right knee started hurting inside a lot, like I couldn't walk up a slope without it hurting. I thought oh hell, I'm screwed now. But then I did stretches for a couple days and now it's back to normal. Don't forget to stretch! It's important!

The baby has a number of words now: ball, phone, shoe (his first 3), bath, bean, butt, sock. Others too. He's game to try to say anything so long as it is monosyllabic and clearly denotes an object. It's still all CV syllable structure, but he's getting there. "Bean" is my favorite. For some reason he can do the full CVC on that one. Maybe because it ends in a nasal?

U made a nice pun the other day. He was pretending to bake a cake. "It's a bacon cake" he said, "because I'm bakin'."

previous next

Leave a note