powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Mar. 11, 2017 - 9:09 p.m.

17 days since an entry?! Fuck. Time!

1. Got our shit together and got everyone out of the house to the book fair this morning in time for one of the sessions I wanted to hear. Arrived 5 minutes early to find people waiting in hall outside the room. "Session full" sign on door. I stood there for a few minutes trying to figure out what was going on, then went and asked at the help desk. "I am confused. The door sign says it is full, but people are standing outside, it isn't time for it to begin yet." "It is 11:24." "It begins at 11:30." "Yes, and it is 11:24." "And it is full?" "Sorry, it is full." "Why are people standing outside?"

I left and had a disappointed mini-meltdown on the back staircase. It is such a heroic effort to get everyone somewhere on time, and on time doesn't even mean "in time".

Well, there is one more I really want to go to tomorrow and I will try to get there super early.

2. Working on my ideas for t-shirt improvement/ alteration by way of prints. Really good candidate shirts (those showing scenic vistas) are actually relatively difficult to find-- most shirts have slogans or commemorate events. Text is less fun to play with in this way, and more of a challenge. I may try redacting the text, and/or then printing over it. Want to try rendering it asemic, too, but am unsure how to transform it thoroughly enough.

3. Read that both Temple Grandin and Nikolai Tesla were able to run through prototypes/ test their designs in their minds. I can also do this (within my areas of expertise) and didn't realize that most people can't. It sounds self-aggrandizing to compare myself to them, but it is true that I can do this.

previous next

Leave a note