powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 23, 2017 - 1:04 p.m.

Talked briefly to my mom day before yesterday. Was supposed to call her back, but didn't that night because 3 CHILDREN NO HELP right now. Called back yesterday and left a message. Called her today and got the "WELL. There is my DAUGHTER." treatment. JESUS CHRIST MOM DO YOU WANT TO MAKE SURE I NEVER CALL YOU BACK?!?!

Anyway. Uncle still not doing well. I called my father in law and got a lot of good advice about how they should proceed, but no signs that they are doing much of it. Item #1 is call a psychiatrist to get him on some anti-depression meds so he he will be more willing to do rehab. Of course, if he won't, he won't. But if he won't listen to his kids, get SOME OTHER authority figure in there to give him a stern talking-to. Not my monkeys, not my circus. I just don't see the point in hand-wringing. I hate ineffectual histrionics. (<-- in this case, finding a reason EVERY TIME WE TALK ABOUT HIM to bring up his gun and desire to kill himself as soon as he gets home. Let's just fucking flap our lips about it rather than help the man.)

Mom coming over for dinner tonight. Lord love-a-duck, let me have patience.

previous next

Leave a note