powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, May. 25, 2017 - 10:02 a.m.

Went up to pick up my mom at my uncle's, and we had a surprise visit from my cousin who was in town for a show. He's a bass player. Kind of famous actually. He brought his guitar and played things for us, said kind things about his memory of the last time we met (when I was 13). He impressed me with how patient he was with very basic facts about music (and with his grandfather, who in classic Moore style would say things like "well, I think you're a better guitarist than you are a singer." as his only comment after a song). Just very kind and a (seemingly) effortlessly patient educator.

My brain doesn't like interesting conversations though and so I didn't sleep well, as I inevitably do not after meeting new people and having interesting conversations.

Gave me opportunity to reflect on the years of work he has put into getting to this point. I wish I hadn't done so much farting around in my life. Not done yet, but still.

previous next

Leave a note