powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Sept. 03, 2017 - 8:02 a.m.

I have discovered that I can do all of the following on brown paper bags: Printing (of course), calligraphy (was worried the ink would spread, but it doesn't), and embossing. The main down side is that they are decidedly not archival and in all the paper arts one prefers to use acid-free materials. On the plus side, they're abundant and free, and I am doing a service by recycling them. I still had a question about whether I should use them, because not archival. You know, what if a museum wants to buy one but doesn't because it isn't archival? ;) Yeah. So I considered the unlikeliness of that event, and thought a little about climate change and North Korea and decided it really doesn't fucking matter. And most of all, I kind of like the idea of using this humble material and doing wonderful things with it. Putting in unexpected details. Having the texture of its use as part of the background of the piece. So, ok.

previous next

Leave a note