powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Sept. 05, 2017 - 8:03 a.m.

Needless to say, I am really glad I decided to do the bookbinding class. I almost backed out of it. Needing to make samples every week has focused me in a way I never had been before with books. Every time I make a sample my brain floods with ideas. For the last couple days it has been paste paper. Paste paper plus my own rubber stamps or calligraphy= awesome potential. Hard to get a lot of lettering on it before it starts to dry, but still. Something to explore. Plus if you letter on it with a flat nib, it abrades the paper a little and if you spread more paste over it it gets darker. Hard to explain, but really cool. You end up with letters just dark enough to be read, in the exact same hue as the paper.

I covered boards with some of it, for the version of the garden book that I'm making for my friend.

Going to do a version of the snowflake book, stitched rather than taped. With cyanotypes.

I haven't gone to see if anyone has taken the book that I left at the little library yet. If they haven't, I admit I will be somewhat deflated. Then I will tell myself that it is waiting for the right person to find it.

previous next

Leave a note