powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2017 - 3:31 p.m.

Very pleased with with how the cyanotype jewelry is looking. Also have another new thing I'm trying and it is looking awesome too. I am ready to get back in business again. Well, I don't know if I'm actually ready, but I'm ready to be ready. Went a long time thinking I was done with jewelry and knowing all the reasons I should be (oversaturated market, mainly), but here we are.

Steps:
1. finish developing my style in these new pieces. Get the hang of my new techniques. Earrings, pendants, necklaces. Find earring designs I won't get sick of making. Make sure I still want to do it this time next month.
2. See if people actually like them or not.
3. Work on fancy show-offy pieces
4. Plan product line(s). Price points.
5. Take over the world.

Right? Right.

Addendum because I just now read my notes y'all left: I love cyanotype on fabric but you have to use a special detergent on it or it'll fade to nothing in one wash. I worry that is too fussy for people in general. Will kick around the other ideas. For juried art festivals you have to have done everything from scratch more or less-- so I can't just buy a blank and resin stuff to it. I need to know how to make the thing. I don't really know how to make anything except jewelry and books. A cyanotype journal would be amazing, though. I may try that just because. Maybe buttons for knitters, etc? I have seen potters who offer them...I wonder if resin would go over well in that context or not? Food safe resin also a great idea...gonna think on that one....

previous next

Leave a note