powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 02, 2017 - 11:42 a.m.

Staying in The Big City this week within the in-laws for the birthdays. I am itching to work on my jewelry and am allowing myself to divert the urge into learning pop-up techniques so I can make pop-up jewelry displays. Not sure how that will work out, but it's keeping me almost sane.

Main event has been that I was cornered after a bad day with Q (who has been in a several-day adjustment period due to rental house, grandparents, and general total disruption of her routines) and they asked me point blank if these are autistic behaviors and if she had a diagnosis. Of course there was no evasion apart from maybe screaming and running away, so after that the interrogation was very straightforward.

Have really only spoken to mil. My mom was there but not sure how much she followed it. Mostly mil has been expressing their hurt that we didn't tell them. Which we can't explain without hurting their feelings further. She has also asked for information about what they can do to help, specific strategies to help Q when she is having a hard time. Of course, we have been giving them such advice THE ENTIRE TIME and they haven't recognized it as such. Plus they seem to have the misconception that you get a diagnosis and suddenly there are Things You Can Do and Ways To Help. Like we can sign her up for Relax, Already classes and Realizing The Autoflush Will Not Kill You therapy and How To Want Friends lessons and she'll be good to go. So we may have some educating to do there.

previous next

Leave a note