powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 30, 2017 - 7:46 p.m.

Wedding party went ok. My dress was fab and got only compliments, that I was aware of. I felt good in it, which was truly novel. J did his toast and sang Meatloaf. Q came up and yelled at him in the middle of it to stop, but Gammie managed to lure her away and it did not turn into full meltdown, by some miracle. It was a very near thing. I wandered around awkwardly wondering who I should be talking to and what I should be saying to them.

Saw J's father's cousin, a high-powered lawyer from NJ, do this thing where a glass broke, he said at an employee, "hey! broken glass that needs cleaned up!" And when the guy didn't hear him HE CLAPPED AT HIM and re-barked the order. It was the most peremptory thing I have ever seen in person. "This is what rich and powerful people from NJ are like", I thought. Eew. Except he's also really close to J's dad and is beloved. But still, eew. I mean, would an "excuse me" hurt?

Both boys sick now (fever only), and Halloween is imperiled. Plus that means it's just a matter of time for me.

previous next

Leave a note