powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jan. 18, 2018 - 1:56 p.m.

In-laws left today! It's like a weight lifting from my soul. It was a fine visit, no major incidents or anything, but still. Don't worry, they'll be back in like 3 weeks for E's birthday.

Have been trying intermittent fasting for the past few days. Not much progress, but then, we've been going out to eat for lunch and dinner every day. Now that I can resume regularly scheduled dietary practices, I'm looking forward to seeing how it works for me. So far I'm finding that it is surprisingly easy to stick with a ham-handed rule like, "don't eat for 16 hours" than it is to eat small meals and avoid snacking, with no rules to speak of. So even if there's only a benefit from reducing calories (as opposed to the fat burning and insulin-regulation benefits proponents of this approach tout), it's still a win for me. If I can resist the urge to eat a cookie at 10 pm like I did last night. It'll also incentivize me to get dinner going earlier, which is always a problem for me.

I ordered some big paper. I am excited.

previous next

Leave a note