powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Mar. 24, 2018 - 10:57 p.m.

Helpful shit my mom says, compilation #1:
1. At first when she came over, E did not want to play with her. Remember, is is 3. He changed his mind, and I overheard her saying, “Why were you being so NASTY to me when I got here? If you’re going to be like that, next time I will leave.”

Then she started nagging them to clean their playhouse.

2. Yesterday. Arrives.
“Let me go see if anyone will say hello to me.” Bangs on Q’s door, tries to open it. Q blocks it, like she does.
“You open that door! Or I’m going to leave and take the things I brought for you away with me!”
Q opens door.
In her Disapproving Voice: “see, when you’re going to get something out of it, you do it.”
Comes to me, says, “You have the weirdest kids. At least Q smiled at me.” Hits me on the head with a plastic bag several times to get my attention.
I tell her to please stop.
Two minutes later: “well, is there anything I can do around here to put you in a better mood?” In a reproachful voice for my being in a bad mood.

3. At 11 pm when I am basically incapable of emoting or doing more than mumbling one word at a time. “You look so tired, I don’t know how you handle these long evenings. I worry about you. You should get some rest.” 2 minutes later: “You know, I find that when I do all my dishes at night, it’s really nice to wake up in the morning without all that mess.”

I am trying not to complain about her around the children, but they do notice shit on their own. U avoided her most of the day.

previous next

Leave a note