powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jan. 03, 2019 - 6:32 p.m.

Listening to my mom talk on phone. Trying to address envelopes but am trying to be dutiful and let her rattle on. I put it on speaker and set the phone on the table.

“What was that?! Are you still there?!”
“Yes, I just put it on speaker”
“I heard a noise and didn’t know what happened! It was a thump”
“Yeah I am just trying to do things and thought I could do things while you were talking”
“Well I was saying that Karen...”
“I know what you were saying, I heard everything, I just put it on speaker and set it down so I could do things”
“Well now don’t get upset!”
“No, no don’t get upset, never get upset.”
“Well, you have things to do then, I’ll let you go and do them, I’ll talk to you later” [crying voice]

This need to take ALL of my attention upsets me.

This need to be confused and discuss every minor phone problem upsets me. It is boring.
We are still talking, so fucking get on with it. We don’t need to discuss a noise the phone made for 15 minutes.

I should be able to handle this degree of frustration, but I can’t.

I get upset and it doesn’t have to be the end of the goddamn world, does it?

previous next

Leave a note