powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2019 - 9:37 a.m.

Indeed, creative high gone, energy high gone, feeling a bit low today so far for no particular reason.

But I have this shoe, a small triumph. Once again impressed myself with how I just made a thing, a strange splendid thing that fits and works, on my first try. “I’m afraid they won’t hold up very well”, J said.

But that wasn’t the question. The question was, how long WILL it last? How well will it work for me while it does? How good will I feel about it, how happy will my feet be? Will I find it worth making another pair to extend the utility of both? How can I improve on it? How often will I need to mend them? “They won’t hold up” is a consumer thing to say but I am not a consumer, or am industrial shoe designer. I am a maker, making something for myself. My judgments of utility and even function are on different terms. In the end the purpose of these shoes is to satisfy my curiosity. “They won’t hold up” is orthogonal to that.

How will they wear, where will they tear, how can I improve on them from there?

previous next

Leave a note