powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Mar. 31, 2019 - 11:42 a.m.

Sometimes I realize that 2-3 of my special interests have an intersection I hadn’t thought about before and the gravity of it is like being sucked into a black hole. And I can see the timeline for any of my other projects receding infinitely before me. Haha.

What happened was I was reading the journal of Jewellery Research and looking at the themes for the publication (jewelry as social practice; jewelry and sense of self; jewelry and the body; contemporary art jewelry; jewelry and studio practice) and just sort of thinking about what sorts of of academic writing on jewelry I’d actually like to read or write, and then I thought about bdsm collars and then I realized that wow that’s really interesting from all those perspectives. And then I thought about chastity devices as jewelry. And buttplugs. And then I thought about the many craft makers of kink items (woodcraft, leather craft, and probably a bunch of stuff I don’t even know about).

Now I want to write a dissertation about this. Or at least an article. Help.

previous next

Leave a note