powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, May. 12, 2019 - 8:43 a.m.

Eventually I recovered. Slept a little, dragged myself around, J brought me a blizzard, laid around some more.

Today I’m ok. A little annoyed with Mother’s Day. When I see people posting sweet shit about their mothers, I resent it. When people post sweet shit about their children, I resent it. When people post carefully worded recognitions of the holiday designed to be as inclusive and understanding of other people’s resentment as possible, I resent it. When people wish me happy mother’s day, I resent it. The permeating stench of the expectation that I should do these things as well follows me around and I resent it.

I mean, I try not to show it, that’s the best I can do. Also have to buy something for my mother. Guess how I feel about that. I will also accept gifts graciously. It is part of my motherly duty, to allow them to practice gift-giving and for me to model graciously receiving gifts.

I DO want the brunch I was promised, though. I would never resent brunch, provided I can do it without mother or children with me, and no clues that I am a mother such that people would wish me a happy day.

I think I’m gonna go tomorrow. They should be less busy on a Monday.

previous next

Leave a note