powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, May. 14, 2019 - 8:17 p.m.

I now have this thing I made. My first instinct is to hate it. By itself these wrapped loops remind me of things white hippies make to weave into their dreads. There’s not much skill involved. They aren’t aesthetically appealing to me even though the urge to perform the action of making them is overpowering. I feel it’s beneath me. I imagine it’s somehow appropriative even though I don’t know who from. This isn’t even a good version of those hippie things. I’m angry at it. I was angry at it while I made it.

It’s pink, I used pink cloth and snips of other pink cloth and a couple shades of pink thread and some red. I started with a T-shirt collar so it can still slip over my head.

I could attach little fabric charms to it.
I could wrap more heavily in one spot to create a focal point.
I could incorporate it into a larger wall piece.

I hate it but I’m gonna keep messing with it.

previous next

Leave a note