powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, May. 15, 2019 - 7:12 p.m.

Took E to swim class— he didn’t want to go in because it was a different teacher than usual. I tried to persuade him but didn’t make him.

Got home where mom was staying with Q and U, and E told her what had happened. And she goes into this whole “Awww, I bet her feelings were hurt! She’s gonna think you don’t like her!” thing to...I don’t know what. To make him feel bad for not making the decision the adults wanted him to make? To get him to comply next time? I just hate that emotionally manipulative shit. Like no, the feelings of the teacher do not matter more than that of the child, and why should they. No, you aren’t obligated to be with people you don’t like on the off chance that their feelings will be hurt if you don’t. And no, healthy adults will not have their feelings hurt by random children. If they claim they do, it’s a red flag.

I said, “No, I don’t think she cared.”

I mean if it was another little kid I would teach about considering their feelings and how to graciously and non-hurtfully decline to be around them. But an adult? For the sake of gaining compliance? No.

previous next

Leave a note