powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, May. 18, 2019 - 7:55 a.m.

Yesterday was harder. Various issues around my mom. Nothing big and I don’t even think she noticed. I was strained and my brain was peppery. No chance to rest and didn’t get everyone to sleep until 1:30am.

The big thing worth noting was that E went over to play with the neighbor kid and was there for hours. It’s been years since Q has had a play date and she’s never just gone solo. U is his own set of issues, of course. So this was like...normal. Halfway through I discovered I had no idea what my job was in this situation. There was a thing about them picking up other kids and I didn’t know if I should offer to come get E or if there were expectations I was not aware of. And I needed rest but didn’t want to be taking a nap if they needed me. Now they will want their boy to come over here sometimes, which is fair enough, but I’ll have to actively run interference between U and then the whole time. Maybe we’ll have to arrange to take U somewhere else.

Anyway. I have a headache. I’m tired. I hope today is easy. Noon update: The ibuprofen worked, I feel pretty good. I not only made them grits for breakfast, but also bacon and a bowl of mango and strawberries. Oh, and yesterday I managed to mop the bathroom floor and clean the stove. So, you know. Approaching functionality for a bit.

previous next

Leave a note