powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jun. 20, 2019 - 10:31 a.m.

Made a FB post about a fun language acquisition data point that was squarely within the scope of the sort of thing I would have done my dissertation on had I kept at it. Friend who doesn’t really know my background came in to tell me basic language acquisition facts. And this is a feeling I hate very much: don’t want to be waving my old almost-PhD around, don’t want to be a pedantic shit, but also want it to be clear that I am not confused about the basics of language acquisition. It’s a balance I have never learned how to strike very well. I don’t like being underestimated, and I don’t like being insufferable. I don’t know how to not do the one without doing the other.

I have a tattoo I want to get while we’re here, I know who I want to do it. Not sure where I want it, not sure we can afford it. I have some serious self-indulgence already allocated for September. I figure if I just don’t eat when I’m in Wales it’ll offset the cost of the tattoo. Right?

previous next

Leave a note