powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jul. 12, 2019 - 10:25 p.m.

Main accomplishment today: painted fingernails. They are candy apple red with glitter. I had to put like 3 coats of clear coat on top to give it the depth I wanted. It took all goddamn day.

I’m in a new FB group about activism around the detention facilities. Yet again I feel like I would like to actually help and yet again I feel like a pathetic fuck because I don’t know what to do. I don’t want to say art is useless, but mine might be for this particular application. What they really need is money for the people on the front lines doing the real work, if I can’t be one of those people. I might consider making stuff and sending it to people with proof of a donation to a relevant org. But idk. Seems like I should be more creative.

Someone else posted an article about the Smithsonian collecting and archiving the children’s drawings from the facilities. People were disgusted that that’s what they were doing instead of something to stop it. Peak white liberalism, they said. First of all, what the fuck can the Smithsonian do? This is probably as good as it gets for a museum. Second, you don’t know what the employees may be doing as individuals. But I didn’t say that because I was afraid of speaking out of turn as a white person. And I wanted to take a moment and try to think outside the box. And let that criticism stay but try to come up with something myself so I can actually help. And I still have nothing.

previous next

Leave a note