powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Aug. 02, 2019 - 8:48 a.m.

E got through school ok eventually. J took him for ice cream and to buy a new sunhat and he came home telling me he wanted me to meet his teacher.

But this morning, same deal. He doesn’t want friends (he says, even though he will chat up anyone who holds still), the toys are boring, and he hated being made to stay in the room during nap time.

Big argument first thing in the morning. J threatening to take everything away and return his new hat and offering him bribes to go. All that stuff I hate and never wanted to do with my children, before I knew any of them were neurodivergent. But using reason with a 4yo is a long game and we need him to give school a try. He really is learning bad habits from U. I can’t deny that.

I feel like such a failure.

previous next

Leave a note