powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Sept. 07, 2019 - 9:51 a.m.

I hung my first bunting. It wasn’t a bus stop on a busy street corner in broad daylight and I was a bit nervous. But it went ok and I’m pleased with myself.

Posted it in my one group I’m in and one person wrote, “Why did you do this? Just for laughs?”

Once I told her and she classified it as what art, she said she loved it, but I’m always struck by how undermining the “why would you want to do that?” thing is. Knocks the legs out from under me as an artist, puts me in the position of either having to defend an entire genre of art or acknowledge that what I have done isn’t good enough to be recognizable as such. Or makes me face the fact that a lot of people don’t see me as an artist at all (even when that’s my main identity these day), and my actions aren’t really interpretable.

Well. I suppose that’s part of the danger of guerrilla art. Some people will appreciate it, some will say “you have too much time on your hands” or “what did you do that for?”

Started carving a block for another one. This one will say “take your meds” and “drink water”.

previous next

Leave a note