powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019 - 12:05 a.m.

Made it to Memphis.
On the first leg of the flight, a 3 hour flight to Minneapolis...U sat in window seat, Q in middle, me in aisle.

U had his iPad, and all the toys he had packed, and new markers and a pad of drawing paper.

And he didn’t want to do any of it. He wanted to ask me over and over how long until we got there. He wanted to open and close his tray table. And he was SO LOUD. He didn’t stay quiet for more than 10 seconds at a stretch THE ENTIRE TIME. And if I told him to lower his voice or be gentle with the tray, he’s just get louder. Even when he was drinking his orange juice and water he managed to make ridiculously loud slurping noises.

The constant noise got to me. The volume got to me. The thought that it was bothering people got to me. Eventually he became openly defiant (yelling at me to give his water and juice back, which I had taken for reasonable reasons but he just decided to yell at me as loudly and rudely as possible to give them back NOW). And eventually, over the edge I went. Another goddamned airplane meltdown/shutdown/whatever.

The second leg he got to sit by J and get his full attention while playing Minecraft and it was all fine. Thank goodness.

I am tired and I can’t wait to be on another airplane, not responsible for anyone else.

previous next

Leave a note