powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2019 - 9:02 p.m.

I decided, and J agreed, that these pieces seem ok with just varnish and no resin. If I start using the tiny circles with them I’ll need to resin those, but the main pieces seem substantial enough as-is. It helps that the cord has drape, they’re large, and I’m using multiples together.

Have a couple more I’m starting. I’m drawn to weird shapes and weird shape combinations. Asymmetry. Every one different from every other in color and shape and text.

We are stories we tell ourselves about ourselves.

Something about the combo of thinking about putting message first, and national coming out day and seeing so many of my friends brave enough to come out and be themselves even when it hurts because it hurts worse to do otherwise. To be oneself fully. That’s the idea. Maybe my message? Weird, commonplace, delicate, flawed, colorful, beautiful because of it...narratives and experiences. Presented boldly and without agenda part from representing oneself unapologetically.

Not everyone will like them, but that’s how it is, isn’t it?

previous next

Leave a note