powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Dec. 02, 2019 - 7:39 a.m.

Yesterday started rough but got better. A friend donated some money for my art shenanigans and just when I was telling myself no one wants to subsidize kindness, not when they can buy cute shoes or whatever...there somebody proved me wrong. Thank goodness. (I know I’m wrong anyway. There are finite resources, is all. I still wish my self-worth were not so wrapped up in people being willing to invest their resources in me, but that’s just capitalism for you. Hard to undo that thought process, especially when you know most others haven’t).

Anyway, my head cold was terrible yesterday. Q handled the fact that we totally forgot there was no swim class until we had already driven there with admirable aplomb. Soup in a bread bowl for lunch. I took a nap, we decorated the tree, made eggnog, made cookies. I had told myself I wasn’t going to do the cookies, since we never even used all of them from last year, but Q asked about it so here we are. I just have to do a better job of giving them away this time.

Rum ball day today. Spicy bourbon balls actually. I need a rum ball recipe that’s actually the best elements of homemade fruitcake, but in ball form. Fruitcake didn’t make my list. I’m never in the mood mid-November. Do love it though.

previous next

Leave a note