powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 10, 2020 - 6:41 p.m.

“Whose lemonade is this?” she asked and J said “oh it’s E’s but it’s 2 days old” “so I can throw it out?” she said. “yes” he said and then she said aloud to herself, “2 days! What is it still doing here, I wonder.”

It’s there because I’m not a very good housekeeper or parent. It’s there because the day he got it was his birthday party and I was exhausted and barely functional when I was even in the house. It’s there because I walk by it 20 times a day but I haven’t cleared anything off the table that didn’t have food on it. It’s there because I think I should throw it out but don’t remember what day it is or how long it’s been there and maybe he still wants it. It’s still there because my best is not very good. What should I do. What should I do?
It’s there because it’s not a big fucking deal. It’s there because. Because. Because it is there.

previous next

Leave a note